Wilton Cake Course 2: Completed

During the month of February I took the second Wilton cake decorating course.  Yesterday was the last day of class.  I am kind of bummed that it is over since it was a lot fun!  I just wanted to share with you all the creations that I made using what I learned in class:

Day 1: The Button Flower.  The flower is made from a half gum paste, half fondant mixture. Then it is pressed into the flower shaper, and bam you have awesome flowers!

Button Flowers

Day 3: We learned how to make several royal icing flowers.  I really liked the daffodils and the roses.  I used them on this cake I made for my sister’s birthday!  I am so pleased with how great this cake looks!

Birthday Cake

Daffodils

Roses

Day 4: On the final day we learned how to do a reverse shell border and the basket weave.  I didn’t use the reverse shell on this cake.  I also used my royal icing lilies that I learned on day 3 on this cake.  This cake is a larger version of what I had originally planned.  I wanted to make two small cakes with three lilies on top of each with the basket weave around the sides.  My small cakes did not turn out and so I made the larger cake.  This cake still looks great, but it is always sad when your first idea has to be scratched.

Basket weave and Lilies

I hope to take the third Wilton decorating course soon and share more wonderful creations.  For now I hope to keep using what I learned and make some more beautiful cakes and cupcakes!

Posted on March 1, 2013, in Decorating, Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You have written an awesome site.

Please Comment