San Francisco and Coastal Redwoods Vacation

I’m back from California and ready to start sharing!  Before I left, I was scouring other food blogs for ideas of places that would be fun to visit.  I found several places I knew I had to try.  I wanted to make sure I visited Ghirardelli Square, Boudin’s Bakery, Dynamo Donuts, and Tartine’s Bakery.  I was also excited to do some sightseeing.  The first stop on my vacation adventure was Dynamo Donuts.  Upon entering the bakery, I was reminded of when I worked at Great Harvest Bread Co.  The smell was awesome!  Between our group we tried six different donuts.

These two were the passionfruit milk chocolate on the left and the spiced chocolate on the right.  The spiced chocolate had some flavor to it that kind of turned me off to this donut.

This the bread pudding donut.  I fell in love with this one!  It can be ordered in two sizes and I choose the small size, I wish I had chosen the larger one it was that good!

Since a large part of our group enjoys bacon, we had to try the maple bacon donut.  I was actually surprised, it was pretty tasty.  We also tried their Sticky bun, which was sticky but oh so good!  The other one was the vanilla bean donut, which only one person in our party got to try, because it was so amazing they didn’t want to share with the rest of us.

After breakfast started our drive north towards the redwoods on California 1.  It was a lovely scenic route, though a bit too windy for my tastes.  However, along the way we stopped at Timber Cove Inn.  Within the Inn is Alexander’s Restaurant and that was where we ate lunch.  For me, this was my favorite place we ate!  The food was soooo tasty, though part of that could be that we were all starving.  The above picture is the view from the window in the restaurant.

Gary ordered the Black Cod fish and chips.  This was delicious and when the fish was dunked in some of the tartar sauce is was even more amazing!  The fish was breaded perfectly, the right about of crispness.

I ordered the grilled local Snapper fish tacos.  Ever since I ate these I have been carving them, they were that good!  I added a bit of the lime juice over the fish and veggies and then added the pico de gallo.  After talking about them again I really want them.  They were so fresh and filling!

After devouring lunch we continued along.  We arrived at our cabin and made our selves at home.  The next day was all about sightseeing and being amazed by the redwoods.  We took the Avenue of Giants and I was in awe of these massive tress!

On our way back we ate lunch at the Avenue Café in Miranda.  Of all the little places to eat along the Avenue of Giants this is the one I suggest!

I had the three cheese calzone with green peppers and pepperoni added to it.  It was perfect!

Gary also tried a local brew, the Eel River Amber.  It was quite tasty!

The next day we began our trip back to San Francisco and took Highway 101.  Since we were traveling through Sonoma country, I wanted to stop a Vineyard.  We stopped at Nelson Family Vineyards for a wine tasting.  Yum!  We started off with their Champagne.  It was nice a bubbly!  Next we tried their Barn Blend.  This one did not do too much for us.  Among our group we decided that once your blend more than two types of wine it just starts to go south.  Next we tasted their Zinfandel.  This red, was tasty!  So tasty in fact that I bought a bottle for my dad.  The last wine that Gary and I tried was their Viognier.  This was my personal favorite of all the wines we tasted that day.  Gary even bought a bottle for his parents.  My mom also tried their Riesling.  She loved it!

The next day was spent touring San Francisco.  The first stop of the day was the trolley!

Then we meandered over to Ghirardelli Square.  We went into Kara’s Cupcakes and I indulged in a passionfruit cupcake!  It was amazing!

Next we toured Alcatraz Island.  I wish we could have spent more time here to look around.  It was really interesting to see, and the information from the audio tour was fascinating!

Before dinner we stopped at Boudin’s Bakery.  I was surprised at the variety of shapes they make their sourdough.  I was really excited when I saw a turtle loaf.  I love turtles!  What makes this experience even better is that their sourdough is amazing!

To end the day we ate dinner at Nick’s Lighthouse at Fisherman’s Wharf.  I love ravioli and when I saw it on the menu with crab, I knew I had to try it.  It was really tasty!  The only thing I would have changed would be to have the crab in the ravioli instead of the sauce.

The next day we ate breakfast at Tartine Bakery.  I really enjoyed my meal, bread pudding; however, they forgot to bring out Gary’s quiche. I think the reason we had to go up to ask for it was because they were super busy and crowded that they forgot about it.  I also took at nibble of Emily’s lemon bar and it was amazing!

To end the vacation we took a bay cruise.  There was an audio tour and it was really interesting to learn about all the features around the bay and in San Francisco!

I cannot wait to sharing my creations with you all again soon!  I have several ideas already for what I might share next!

Posted on July 14, 2012, in Vacation Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please Comment

